These past two weeks have been crazy! My best friend got married this past weekend and it was a TON of fun and I couldn’t be happier for her. Well we all know with a wedding comes parties and cookouts and bake goods are always a good thing to bring with. This week I noticed we had a lot of dried oats in the pantry and I was craving oatmeal cookies, but I didn’t want the typical “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies” I wanted something sweeter, so I added a little ingredient that packed a big kick, so let’s get started and you’ll find out the secret ingredient.

Ingredients:

photo 1

1/2 Cup (1 stick) plus 6 tablespoons butter, softened

3/4 Cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 Cup granulated sugar

2 Eggs

1 Teaspoon(s) vanilla

1-1/2 Cup(s) all-purpose flour

1 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1 Teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 Teaspoon salt

3 Cup Old-fashioned oats

1 Cup raisins

and the “secret ingredient” is White Chocolate.

Your choice you can use chips or I like chopping up the big bars you can find in the baking aisle.

This is the perfect combination of sweet chocolate while keeping the familiarity of the oat fashion oats and raisins.

Baking Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 350°F. Start by mixing the butter and sugars till they are a creamy texture.

photo 3         photo 2

Add the eggs and vanilla, mix them in. Then add the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; once those have been mixed well, then it’s time to add in the oats, raisins, and white chocolate.

photo 4          photo 5

When I make cookies I’d prefer to make them big and soft, so I use an ice cream scoop this increases the baking time from 8-10 minutes to about 13-15 minutes.

photo 2

Once they come out put them on a cooling rack and wait a few minutes before indulging in these delicious cookies. Add a glass of milk and it’s the perfect after dinner snack!

  photo 4

