Here it is… the recipe I know my friends have been waiting for! Not that this recipe is secret but it’s one recipe I’ve perfected and even played around with. I’ve done every fad diet in the book and this is once recipe I will continue to alter based on the diet just so I can continue to enjoy it… It’s MY banana bread!

When I was in college my roommates and I would buy bananas weekly but by Thursday we were finished we had had enough of being healthy and it was time to kick the healthy stuff to the curb, so come Saturday afternoon when all the bananas we didn’t finish had ripened I made banana bread. I made banana bread with whole wheat flour, with chocolate chips, I even tried making banana bread with applesauce (still tastes delicious!) But here it is my simple homemade banana bread. I’ll give you the basics you make it your own. Feel free to add chocolate chips or add walnuts everyone has their own liking and this is a recipe easy to alter to all.

*It’s also a great gift at the holidays if you make it in the mini bread pans and wrap it with colorful ribbons! The possibilities are endless. Enjoy!

Ingredients: 

2013_1107AB

3-4 Ripe Bananas – The ripper the banana the better the bread (Depending on how big they are you want more than less for this recipe in order to make it moist and delicious!)

1/3 Cup Melted Unsalted Butter

3/4 Cup Sugar – I prefer Splenda for this recipe, it’s sweet without the added calories. But regular sugar won’t make it taste awful I promise.

1 Egg

1TBS Vanilla – My secret is Mexican Vanilla it’s more powerful. You can find it at any speciality store and maybe even your local grocer now. Check it out.

1TBS Baking Soda – Only need a teaspoon! If you add anymore it can pop-up high and seem over cooked.

Pinch of Salt

1 1/2 Cups Flour – If you want to use whole wheat flour just do half and half 3/4 whole wheat 3/4 regular and it’ll be fewer calories.

*Add chocolate chips or walnuts about 1/2 cup or if you’re a chocoholic any amount will do really.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 Degrees

2013_1107AC

With a wisk mash the bananas. Once the bananas have been mashed add the melted butter and mix.

2013_1107AD

Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla.

2013_1107AE

Add the baking soda and salt and mix well. 2013_1107AG

Add flour last and mix well.

Pour the mixture into a greased pan. Butter works best in terms of getting a soft bread feeling but for convenience I use baking spray (PAM) and don’t cook my bread as long.

2013_1107AH

 

2013_1107AI

I bake my bread for 45 minutes most recipes call for an hour, but I feel the longer it bakes the less moist it will taste.

Once it’s done baking remove from the oven, cut, and serve! Enjoy the deliciousness!

2013_1107AL

