I love pizza, I love anything Italian really… but pizza is my favorite! Growing up my first job was at a local pizza shop and I ate it constantly, I think it’s one of those foods people say they could live off of if they could only choose one food for the rest of their life.

I recently tried a store brand version of whole wheat pizza dough and thought it really wasn’t awful, but why am I spending money on a store version when I could easily make this myself at home? So I did just that I knew how to make regular pizza dough and I had seen some recipes for whole wheat banana bread and knew that if you use whole wheat flour it’s just balancing it with the white flour, so here it is whole wheat pizza dough!

 

Ingredients:

2013_1107AO

(This recipe will make one large thick crust or two medium regular crust… or a few small pizzas for kids to creat their own flavors)

2 Cups Whole Wheat Flour

1 1/2 Cup All Purpose Flour

Pinch of White Sugar

Packet of Active Dry Yeast

1 1/2 Cups Warm Water

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

Pinch of Salt

Directions:

In a large bowl dissolve the sugar in warm water and pour the yeast over. Let sit for 10 minutes until the mixture starts to foam.

2013_1107AP

Once it has begun to foam mix in the olive oil and salt. Then mix in the whole wheat flour and only 1Cup of the all-purpose flour (the 1/2 cup will be used later during a different part.) Once the dough starts to come together tip the dough over a parchment sheet with the other 1/2 cup of flour and knead the flour into the dough, until it has all been absorbed.

2013_1107AQ 2013_1107AT

2013_1107AV 2013_1107AW

After the dough has formed grab another bowl, that has been oiled. Place the dough in the bowl and flip it around so it has an oiled surface. Cover the bowl loosely with a towel and let sit for about an hour (in a warm place), or until it doubles in size. This is also the time in which if you want to save half the dough and put it in a zip lock bag and place in the fridge for next Friday do so before it rises.

2013_1107AY 2013_1108AA

When the dough has finally doubled tip the dough onto a slightly floured surface and split the dough for multiple pizzas or start to stretch out one dough. I like to oil my pizzas pan so it won’t stick later.

2013_1108AB 2013_1108AC

Pre-heat the over to 425 Degrees F. Start to stretch out the pizza dough by placing it over your fists until it can stretch no further. In the pictures I have with this I did not do that I just placed my dough on the pan and used my fists to stretch to the pans width, however, my pizza was very thick, which I love, but some felt it was a whole lot of bread and not enough sauce or cheese.

2013_1108AF 2013_1108AH

Once the pizza is at a size you will love add the sauce and cheese and make it your own! Once you have created a master piece place it in the oven for about 16-20 minutes (depending on thickness). Let cool and enjoy!

