This is a family favorite, I don’t know anyone who doesn’t already make these. When I was younger my mom and I would host this amazing Mother/Daughter cookie swap with a Yankee swap involved. It was always a blast for me because I knew at a young age I enjoyed baking and I loved finding new recipes for this event each year near Christmas.

I don’t make mine any different from others… Unless of course you buy a bag of Peanut Butter cookies from Betty Crocker, in which I do make it differently because I do all my own measuring. So here it is, the family favorite Peanut Butter Blossoms.

Ingredients

2013_1210AG

1/2 Cup Shortening

1/2 Cup Peanut Butter

1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar

1 Teaspoon Baking Powder

1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1 Egg

2 Tablespoons Milk

1 Teaspoon Vanilla

1 3/4 Cup Flour

1/4 Cup Granulated Sugar (Used for coating the cookie)

Kisses

Directions

These don’t take long to mix up, so start by preheating the oven to 350 (F) Degrees. In a large bowl start with the shortening  and peanut butter and mix till it’s creamy (you will need an electric mixer for this recipe.) Once that’s mixed add the 1/2 cup of granulated sugar along with the brown sugar, baking powder, and baking soda. Mix it up then add the egg, milk, and vanilla. Last step mix in the flour gradually. Doesn’t it smell delicious?!

2013_1210AH

Once it’s all mixed in together start shaping the dough into 1-inch. balls. Before placing the dough on the ungreased cookie sheet give it a spin in the 1/4 cup granulated sugar. Once the balls are coated and on the baking sheet send them into the oven!

Bake for about 10-12 minutes. While these are baking you and your little elf can start to unwrap some hershey kisses. This recipe should make about 30 cookies.

2013_1210AI

As soon as the cookies come out of the oven press a kiss into the center and let them cool. It will be tempting to try it right away but be patient and pour a glass of milk in the mean time.

Enjoy!

*If traveling or bringing to a party place in layers separated by wax paper in an air tight container. These cookies can last up to 3 days in room temperature or frozen up to 3 months. I promise you they will not last that long anyways.

2013_1210AN

Check back later this week to see what else is on the plate! 

