Thanksgiving is approaching! Ahh the holidays always seem to creep up on me and possibly you too… No need to worry I have you covered in the Pie department! Last week I went out to eat with my brother and asked what kind of pie he wanted this year, because he always seems to have an opinion on what I’ve baked, so this year I covered my butt and asked in advance. He wanted pumpkin, my mom wanted traditional apple, and well… I’m never easy and really enjoyed baking a pecan pie last year that I wanted to make again this year so instead of choosing one… I hired my mom and we made all three! It is the trifecta of Thanksgiving pies!

CHEATER ALERT – I do not make my own pie crust, please no judging, I’m just not there yet and the crust isn’t the important part… the filling is!

2013_1127AT
Decorations – When you see the pictures of the pies you will notice some have cut outs. I bought these last Thanksgiving at Williams & Sonoma and they just make the pie’s so perfect! They have them for every season too so check it out! They may even be on clearance!

Pie 1 – Pumpkin

This is an age-old recipe I’ve been told never fails. I used Libby’s Famous Pumpkin Pie recipe, however, instead of using the 12 fl ounces of evaporated milk, I used half and half. I’m told it makes the pie more moist and delicious! I’ll have a better idea on Thursday when I have my first ever piece of pumpkin pie!

Ingredients:

2013_1127AA

3/4 Cup Granulated Sugar

1 Tsp. Ground Cinnamon

1/2 Tsp. Salt

1/2 Tsp. Ground Ginger

1/4 Tsp. Ground Cloves

2 Large Eggs

1 Can Libby’s Pure Pumpkin

1 1/2 Cups Half & Half

1 Unbaked 9in Deep Dish Pie Crust (MUST BE DEEP!)

Directions: 

2013_1127AKPreheat the oven to 450 Degrees (F). Mix all the spices together in a bowl, whisk in the eggs, pour in the pumpkin, and gradually add the half and half as you mix together. Once all the ingredients are mixed together pour filling into the pie crust.

Bake the pie at 450 Degrees (F) for 15minutes once those 15minutes are finished turn the oven down to 350 Degrees (F) for another 40-50 Minutes until a knife or toothpick comes out clean. 2013_1127AQ

In the pictures you will notice we added tin-foil around the pie, this was to prevent burning and just keeping a tint of golden to the crust. Once the pie is complete let it stand for 2hours. Then refrigerate or serve immediately.

*If you decide to add the decoration place on top of the pie about 10-15 minutes before the pie should be done. This will give that piece a nice tint of brown and make the pie very festive for the table.

2013_1127AP 2013_1127AU

Pie #2 – Apple Pie

My great Nana Clough made the best apple pie, according to my mom, so what better way to remember a family members at the holidays but to bake up their most delicious recipe. I love making recipes that my family members have made long before I was even a thought. So here it is my Nana Clough’s Apple Pie recipe.

Ingredients:

2013_1127AR

7 Apples Core and Skinned

1 Cup Sugar

2 Tbsp. Flour

1 Tsp. Ground Cinnamon

1/4 Tsp. Salt

1/4 Tsp. Ground Nutmeg

2 Tbsp. Lemon Juice

1 1/2 Tbsp. Butter

1/4 Cup Milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 Degree (F). Once the apples have been skinned and the core has been removed and they are sliced thin, pour the lemon juice over them, this prevents them from browning, and they spice mix will mask the taste of the lemon, don’t worry about that!

2013_1127AM

Start by mixing all the dry ingredients together. Once those have been mixed pour it over the apples and get messy. Dig your hands in there and start to flip the apples until they are all covered. After you have completed that, place it in the pie pan and cut up the butter into small slices and place over the pie.

2013_1127AO 2013_1127AW

After that is done put the top crust on and then brush the top with the milk. Your pie is now ready to bake for 40-45 Minutes or until the crust is golden brown and the apples are nice and tender.

*Add the tin foil again after 15minutes to keep the crust from burning.

Pie # 3 – pecan Pie

Growing up I was never a fan of pie, I enjoyed my ice cream and called it a day… until I discovered pecan pie and then it was over I was in love and I needed to learn how to make it and Thanksgiving last year seemed like the perfect time! I found this recipe on the Food Network website and I will use it till the day I die… my children and grandchildren will know it as “Shelagh’s pecan Pie,” but you will all learn I didn’t come up with this recipe I found it and swear by it! It’s so simple and the outcome makes you go back for seconds.

Ingredients: 

2013_1127AS

5 Tbsp. Unsalted Butter

1 Cup Packed Light Brown Sugar

3/4 Cup Light Corn Syrup

1/2 Tsp. Salt

2 Cups Chopped & Toasted Pecans

2 Tbsp. Bourbon

2 Tsp. Vanilla Extract

3 Eggs

Directions:

For this recipe it’s important to pre-bake the pie crust just a little bit I bake it at 350 Degrees (F) for 10Minutes just to defrost the crust and help it set for this filling.

2013_1127AVIn a medium saucepan, combine the butter, brown sugar, corn syrup, and salt. Bring to a boil over medium heat, and stir constantly, continue to boil for 1 Minute. Remove from the heat and stir in the nuts, bourbon, and vanilla. Set the mixture aside to cool slightly (5Minutes), try to align with the pre-bake so the pie crust is still hot when filling. Bake for about 40-50 Minutes or until the edges are light brown but the center is still slightly loose.

All of these pies can be eaten after cooling. Just remember to add the whip cream and ice cream to make it complete! Enjoy!

2013_1127AX 2013_1127AA

Happy Thanksgiving from my Family to Yours!       

2013_1127AC